Connect with us


Nigeria’s Super Falcons win AWCON 2018 a record nine times

Super Falcons of Nigeria has won the 2018 edition of the African Women’s Cup of Nations. The Thomas Dennerby led team defeated South Africa by 4 goals to 3 in a penalty shootout.

The match started out with the South Africans being very purposeful. Kgatlana made her fantastic runs and the Nigerians responded with certain decent efforts at goal. Scores during the regulation time (120 minutes including extra time) was a goalless draw.

This is the ninth time Nigeria will win the AWCON and the first time a finals match will be decided via penalties.

The Super Falcons started the penalty kicks on a sordid note as Onome Ebi, Super Falcons Co-Captain missed her first kick in the shootout.

However, Nigeria still won 4-3 with Ngozi Ebere, Rita Chikwelu, Chinwendu Ihezuo, and Chinaza Uchendu converting the next four and Tochukwu Oluehi, Super Falcons goalkeeper saving the decisive final kick.

The Nigeria Football Federation promised the Super Falcons US$10,000 each if they win the 2018 AWCON.


Click to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

More in Soccer