Connect with us


Giannis Antetokounmpo named NBA MVP for second straight season

Image Courtesy: Sports Zion

Milwaukee Bucks’ Giannis Antetokounmpo has won the Most Valuable Player in the NBA for the second year in a row after a stellar regular season with the Wisconsin-based sports outfit.

He received 85 of 101 first-place votes and earned a total of 962 points from a global panel of 100 sportswriters and broadcasters. Antetokounmpo also won the KIA NBA Most Valuable Player Award fan vote.

At 25 years old, Antetokounmpo is the first back-back winner after LeBron James in the 2009 and 2010 NBA seasons respectively.

Affectionately known as the Greek Freak, he joins the cadre of Michael Jordan (1987-1988 season), and Hakeem Olajuwon (1993-1994 season) as the only players to win the MVP and the Defensive Player of the Year awards in the same season.

Antetokounmpo also joins Stephen Curry, LeBron James, Steve Nash, Tim Duncan, Michael Jordan, Magic Johnson, Larry Bird, Moses Malone, Kareem Abdul-Jabbar, Wilt Chamberlain, and Bill Russell as back-back MVPs.



Click to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

More in Basketball