Connect with us


Liverpool’s Virgil Van Dijk wins PFA Player of the Year

Image Courtesy: Bein Sports

Liverpool’s centre-back, Virgil van Dijk has won the PFA Player of the Year award. He was voted for by his peers and succeeded Mohamed Salah his fellow teammate at Liverpool who won the award last year in 2018.

The Netherlands defender won the award ahead of his Liverpool teammate, Sadio Mane, the Manchester City trio of Bernando Silva, Sergio Aguero and Raheem Sterling also including Chelsea’s Eden Hazard.

Virgil van Dijk has played a very prominent role in Liverpool’s title-challenging campaign this season in the Premier League and has been a prominent feature in the club’s progression to the semi-finals in the UEFA Champions League.

The 27-year-old joined Liverpool from Southampton for £75 million ($97 million, 87 million euros) in January 2018 and is only the sixth defender to be crowned the PFA Players’ Player of the Year in the award’s history, following in the footsteps of Norman Hunter, Colin Todd, Gary Pallister, Paul McGrath, and John Terry.


Click to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

More in Soccer