Connect with us


Africa Women’s Cup of Nations 2018 commences in Ghana

Image Courtesy: Silverbird TV

The 11th edition of the Africa Women’s Cup of Nations hosted by Ghana has commenced yesterday. There are eight teams participating in the 2018 tournament and there will be a total of sixteen matches.

Eight teams are divided into two groups of four each. Group A comprises of Ghana, Algeria, Mali, and Cameroon. In Group B, you have Nigeria, South Africa, Zambia, and Equatorial Guinea.

This competition also serves as a qualifier for the 2019 World Cup to be hosted by France. So far, only two teams have won the cup at the African Women’s competition – Nigeria has won it nine times and Equatorial Guinea has won it just once.

Click to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

More in Soccer